904.461.1250 or Make Online Priority SeatingPriority Seating

Testimonials

Reviewed on 3/21/2018 Samantha S
The food was amazing — my guests are STILL talking about it. Peter and his team are professional and most importantly he cooks the food ON SITE in a portable chefs kitchen. I was worried that a buffet may mean food is cold or over cooked BUT THAT WAS NOT THE CASE — during the cocktail hour my guests indicated that the passed food was circulated perfectly — they were able to try all the food and the servers were very professional. For the dinner it was a buffet but his servers bring bread baskets to the table and serve the salad at the table — this added a beautiful formality to the event without a sit down dinner – this also allows Peter and his team to release tables to the buffet — no DJ cattle calling tables to the buffet — the servers personally released tables and there was NEVER a line at the buffet because while people were at the buffet the other guests were eating their salads. They also cut and pass out the cake which is a nice touch — he provided a coffee station which went beautifully with the donut wall and grooms cake table. Peter has catering down to a science and he provides a very formal approach to a buffet. He also provides pre-packaged vendor meals that get distributed to the vendors so they are not walking through the buffet with any guests. He prepared two HUGE plates of the appetizers for my husband and me so that while we were tucked away before our announcement into the reception we were able to eat A LOT of food. Once the dinner service started my husband and I never sat down at our table so Peter made sure to pack to go meals for my husband and me as well as cake and donuts. This was amazing because when we got back to the hotel at the end of the night we were able to finally enjoy all the food! Peter is competitively priced and provides a level of service other vendors we met with could NOT compete with. I would have him cater any events in the future. He also has a restaurant in St. Augustine which is where you would do your tasting and his restaurant has delicious food as well!

Sarah, 2/11/18
They were amazing and there food is wonderful!! No issues whatsoever with this vendor and I would highly recommend! Post-wedding several people asked who did the catering because they were so impressed. You cant go wrong with Purple Olive!

Denise, 4/28/17
I was recommended to use Purple Olive by my wedding planner Katy with Coastal Coordinating. My husband and I couldn’t have been happier with our choice. It was really great working with Peter and his staff. To this day everyone keeps talking about how great the food was and how organized his waitstaff was at the wedding. Our guests especially loved the appetizers we selected. Many of our guests had gluten free allergies and Peter’s staff did a great job of making sure those guests were served the appropriate food. A few of our guests changed their mind the day of the wedding for the vegetarian plate and Peter’s staff made those accommodations for them without hesitation. Overall, Peter and his staff went above and beyond to accommodate our guests at our wedding. I couldn’t say better things about them…the food and service they provide is truly excellent!

Ashleigh Cheikelard reviewed Purple Olive — 5 star
August 4, 2016
We used Purple Olive to cater our wedding and were so happy with everything! Peter worked with us to create a custom menu reflecting our tastes and then executed it wonderfully. He was also very accommodating with several changes and some last minute notice on vegetarian guests! Also and so important- his staff was excellent. My guests raved about the service (in addition to the food of course!)

Reviewed On 4/19/2017 Catalina
I wish I could give Purple Olive more stars. We hired Peter to cater our Treasury on the Plaza wedding, they were phenomenal!! Our guests absolutely loved the food and they served close to 100 plated dinners in about an hour. We were able to finish dinner quickly and start the party as planned. I highly recommend them for your wedding, the food is delicious and their service is top notch!

Reviewed On 5/29/2017 Alexis S
Purple Olive was hands down the best caterer we could have booked for our wedding. They are the absolute best. Peter is incredibly responsive and easy to work with , and his team of servers impressed all of our guests with their kind and thoughtful service. The food was delicious – from the passed hors d’oeuvres to the two course dinner to the assorted mini-desserts and late night taco station. Our guests raved about the freshness and quality of everything they tasted, and many tried every item on the menu! We also found out later that Peter had accidentally cut himself, left the wedding to get stitches, and then returned to oversee the remainder of our event. That is incredible dedication and professionalism that goes above and beyond. Thank you Purple Olive!

Reviewed On 9/03/2017 Leanne T
After an extensive search for affordable and delicious food in the St. Augustine area, no one could match the food quality and price point of Purple Olive. We had a seated dinner of 250 guests and our main concerns were food quality and service; Purple Olive delivered exceptional results. They were accommodating to guests with food allergies and even offered a vegan option. The Purple Olive service was timely for food delivery and everyone was served at nearly the same time and the food was HOT. For a guest count of 250 adults plus children, this was a feat. Based on our wedding day, we give Purple Olive the highest form of praise and flattery.

Reviewed On 10/20/2017 Thuyanh E
You know you’re in good hands when you tell other vendors your cater is Purple Olive and their immediate response is “Love Purple Olive! Peter is amazing.” I planned my wedding from out of state and I definitely wanted to secure a good cater. The Purple Olive is very highly reviewed and I knew if I waited, Peter may be booked for my wedding date. So, I booked Purple Olive without doing any tasting of the food. Best decision ever! My husband and I got a chance to do a tasting a month before the wedding and was able to tweak our menu. Peter was so great with the changes! He even suggested a few things to make our wedding menu even better! Bottom line, Peter is a pleasure to work with and the food is amazing!!

Reviewed On 11/04/2017 Hope M
Purple Olive in St. Augustine, FL, is the only caterer you need for your special day! We were blown away at our tasting day and never looked back! Unbelievable value and pricing for the food and presentation we received! Purple Olive also provided our China, flatware, & glassware rentals. The staff is so gracious and accommodating not only to us but to our other wedding vendors. Our event planner, Karen Erwin of St. Augustine Weddings & Events, has a fabulous relationship with Purple Olive who all work so well together. They made it so easy! The owners accommodated every request we asked and made this the most unbelievable fairytale experience! Our wedding guests are still talking about how amazing our food was… I simply cannot imagine using anyone else!

Reviewed On 2/14/2018 Kerry C
Peter and his team did a fantastic job catering our wedding. He was easy to work with and incredibly flexible. He even nailed our late night snack request of a Chicago Style Italian Beef sandwich! The guests have all raved about the food. Thank you so much. It was perfect.

Fabulous food, superb service

Reviewed On 1/08/2015 Caroline S

I could not have been happier with Purple Olive. For quality, professionalism and price – they are AWESOME. The food was fantastic – all the guests were raving about it. Also Peter the owner is SO wonderful!! He’s so nice and helpful, and really knows what he’s doing in terms of food taste, presentation and quality of service. Guests were raving about the food and how great and nice the staff was. We had tons of food options for a great price. Also to note, I have Celiac disease and so does my sister (MOH) and he made everything GF and it was fabulous!! Definitely recommend!!

Best food we’ve (and our guests!) ever had!

Reviewed On 12/09/2014 Pattie M

If you want your guests to ENJOY the meal you serve, be blown away be the service and presentation…and actually remember how good it was and have them asking/still talking about it weeks later… don’t even bother looking elsewhere. Purple Olive is the ONLY option! And the best part… you don’t have to completely destroy your bank account either! We had the pleasure of finding Peter on theKnot and Wedding Wire and after meeting with and seeing menu options from a few local caterers, we knew Peter/ Purple Olive was the perfect one for us. After hearing about all our visions and our menu wishes (my husband wanted shrimp/grits for an appetizer and fried chicken for dinner — don’t ask!) Peter turned what I thought would surely be a hillbilly hoedown into a fabulous, chic southern affair! I (and all the guests who went back for SECONDS) were blown away at the spread Peter brought. We had a menu a million miles long and I have never tasted anything so delicious. He also managed our bar service, and let us drop off all the booze ahead of time. Everything went smoothly and even sent us back with cold beers for the afterparty! (He loaned us one of his big coolers which we returned the next day). Another key feature that I really loved about Purple Olive is that they take care of their team and incorporate that into the menu price, so you don’t have to freak out about adding in another 20%. We tipped of course anyways! They deserve 30% probably! TRULY an AMAZING team that will make your perfect wedding dreams come true. We love you Purple Olive!

Nothing Better!

Reviewed On 11/16/2013 Jenny O

My groom and I had never eaten at the Purple Olive prior to booking our big day, but had heard nothing but fabulous reviews! Peter helped us plan the PERFECT menu and we really LOVED how he takes his catering clients on with such a personal interest. He wanted everything to be perfect, and it was. His staff was super professional and we heard guests raving ALL night about the food! Delicious!

Loved the food!

Reviewed On 7/18/2013 Cindy H

Simply put we loved the food! My husband loved the idea of a Caribbean/seafood menu and Peter made it happen! It was affordable and elegant.

Best Wedding Food EVER

Reviewed On 1/01/2013 Heather S

Unbelievable staff. Peter Kenney the owner is talented, efficient and accommodating. The staff helped set up our decorations. We had a cocktail hour that included chicken empanadas, Seared tuna with a hot mustard glaze, assorted cheeses and olives and fruit. For dinner we had Seafood Paella, Roast Pork with a datil peach chutney, and more. it was the best food I have ever had at a wedding.

Wonderful Food and Staff

Reviewed On 4/23/2012 Amy E

I can not say enough wonderful things about Peter and his staff from Purple Olive. Everyone including ourselves raved about the food! We had a cocktail hour with passed and stationed appetizers and then a dinner buffet. It was all so yummy! Aside from the food, Peter was so wonderful to work with. Anything that we wanted he said yes to. The staff at the reception were all so friendly and helpful, but also professional and hard working. They did so much set up and clean up for us and anything we asked of them during the reception! I can’t wait to have another party, just to have an excuse to use this awesome catering team!

 

Reviewed on 10/23/2015 Jenna

Seriously the best wedding food ever. I told Peter I wanted everyone to be so full after my wedding and he definitely accomplished this goal. People raved about the dinner and appetizers. I had 4 options for my guests because I wanted to make everyone’s palate happy: Gorgonzola, Apple and walnut stuffed chicken, pecan crusted salmon, beef tenderloin and jambalaya. I also had a cheese platter and 4 amazing appetizers that I literally couldn’t stop eating. Everyone I talked to said there food was amazing and it was served promptly! The staff was professional and fun, and the drinks were big! Also, relatively reasonable for how big the portions were!

I also had Peter cater my pool party and it was awesome! He did a Caribbean style theme (pork, rice and beans, Cajun Mac and cheese and plantains) and it was the perfect cure to a hangover after a wild wedding!

 

Reviewed on 5/30/2015  Sara & Dan

Pete and his team at Purple Olive are wonderful! The food was amazing and there was plenty of it!! All of our guests raved how delicious everything was.

Pete came at the recommendation of our wedding coordinator. He created an entire menu of local southern food to fit our wedding theme. It’s been almost a month since our wedding and our guests are still talking about it.

Pete was extremely responsive as we made (numerous) changes throughout the planning process. He had great suggestions and helped us customize a creative menu that best fit our wedding style. We even used his Limoncello Cosmo (we renamed it as the “Lovely Lemon”) as one of our signature drinks and it was a huge hit!

During the wedding, his staff did a fantastic job of getting food out during cocktail hour, dinner and desert.

Thank you for everything, Pete! We can’t wait to visit your restaurant, Purple Olive, when we’re back in town.

 

Reviewed 4/12/2014 Jennifer

Pete and his staff at Purple Olive did an amazing job at our recent wedding. From our first meeting, Pete had great suggestions from food selections to presentation to make our day exceptional. His ideas were perfect, and we’ve had rave reviews about the food from all the guests we spoke with. Pete was professional, courteous, and took care of little details that came up without feeling the need to bother my husband or myself. I would highly recommend Purple Olive for any catering needs. He and his staff were amazing!

 

Reviewed 11/09/2103 Nikolett M

Purple Olive was the best choice we could have made for our wedding. The food was absolutely amazing! We had received a lot of compliments from our guests how great everything was. Most importantly, the staff was fabulous! My husband and I had gone into town to take portraits before the wedding and have left our parents and maid of honor at the house where our wedding was held as all the vendors were coming in to set up for the wedding. My maid of honor was still trying to set up some of the decorations around the house and the staff immediately jumped in to help her finish everything up. When my husband and I returned from town for the ceremony I could tell how stressed out my maid of honor was. One of the first words out of her mouth was “The caterer is amazing and saved the day and my sanity!”. She said they helped her set up everything around the reception tent and made sure she had eaten some food and kept her stress level at a minimal as guests were arriving. I cannot thank the staff enough for that! Peter was great to work with leading up to the wedding and was very professional. I would highly recommend Purple Olive! The food, staff and owner are wonderful and they have definitely went above and beyond our expectations.

 

Reviewed 5/4/2013 Susan

Peter Kenney and his staff from PURPLE OLIVE did a magnificent job of catering my wedding amidst tornado warnings, 40 mph wind and rain! This was supposed to be an outdoor wedding, cocktail reception and indoor sit-down dinner. Needless to say, it was all indoors. The passed hors d’oeuvres (crab cakes, scallops, and baby lamb chops) were superb. And the stationed hors d’oeuvres (fruit, veggies, and cheese) were beautifully presented and tasty. Every single guest raved about the entrees (mahi and prime rib) and the side dishes. Perhaps the most amazing feat of the evening was the staff negotiating 2 flights of stairs and a small kitchen without any guest being aware of the effort. Wine glasses were kept filled, dishes cleared quickly, hot food served hot and cold food served cold. The final gift was a spotless kitchen and house – – especially since we did this all in my house! If I could give 100 stars to Peter and Purple Olive, I would.